top of page


Updated: May 27, 2023

The seven food groups of the diet
Pyramid of the Mediterranean Diet

In 2010, UNESCO recognized the DM as an Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.

Today the Mediterranean Diet (DM) represents an authentic model of a healthy and sustainable diet, capable of counteracting chronic diseases such as diabetes, arterial hypertension, and obesity.

Unfortunately, in recent years, the "Mediterranean" diet has gradually been abandoned in favor of less healthy eating styles. The causes are to be found in the increased accessibility to food, the mobility of people, and the "speeding up" of daily activities, which has translated into a widespread habit of eating meals away from home, reducing the time dedicated to lunch breaks and preparing meals.

The constant presence of represents the salient features of Mediterranean-type food habits:

• cereals and their transformation products (bread, pasta), especially whole meal

• plenty of green leafy vegetables in the ration

• the use of extra virgin olive oil, with the consequent significant contribution of monounsaturated fatty acids,

• the presence of meat and fish and proteins of vegetable origin from legumes.

Also essential is combining foods such as cereals and legumes, cereals and foods of animal origin, meat or fish with vegetables.

The distribution of daily meals is also essential for breakfast, snacks, lunch, and dinner.

It is essential to educate the young generations about the Mediterranean diet to prevent diseases when they are adults and to make them aware of the enormous potential that its adoption can have from an economic and environmental point of view.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page